Minutes of the Special Meeting of the Hays County Historical Commission January 18, 2025

Present: Anita Collins, Linda Coker, Nicholas Costilla, Anthony Davis, Grace Ann Fox, Robert Frizzell, Patrick "Hoot" Gibson, Jim Herbert, Ana Juarez, Lila Knight, Tim McHutchion, Joe Ramirez, Sally Ramirez, Robert Rizo, Sarah Simmons

Absent: none

Guests: Daphne Tenorio, Angelita Tobias

Linda Coker called the meeting to order at 2:33 at the Kyle Railroad Depot and Heritage Center. Roll call established a quorum was present.

Citizens Comments: Daphne Tenorio thanked everyone for their good work.

Coker explained the purpose of the special meeting. She then asked everyone to introduce themselves. Each member said a few words about their background and areas of interest.

Nominations for a chair to recommend to Commissioners Court were taken from the floor. Gibson nominated Linda Coker as chair and the motion was seconded by Knight. Collins nominated herself (Anita Collins) as chair and the motion was seconded by Simmons. There were no other nominations. Each nominee said a few words about their experience and goals for the future.

A roll call vote was taken on the nominees:

Anita Collins - Anita Collins

Linda Coker - Linda Coker

Nicholas Costilla - Linda Coker

Anthony Davis - Linda Coker

Grace Ann Fox - Linda Coker

Patrick "Hoot" Gibson - Linda Coker

Robert Frizzell - Linda Coker

Jim Herbert - Linda Coker

Ana Juarez - Anita Collins

Lila Knight - Linda Coker

Tim McHutchion - Linda Coker

Joe Ramirez - Linda Coker

Sally Ramirez - Linda Coker

Robert Rizo - Linda Coker

Sarah Simmons - Linda Coker

Linda Coker received 13 votes and Anita Collins received 2 votes. The recommendation of Linda Coker as chair of the county historical commission will be forwarded to Commissioners Court.

Collins moved to adjourn the meeting which was seconded by Gibson. The meeting was adjourned at 3:22